Youth Education Scholership Constitution Bee
YES for Liberty
YES for Liberty
Youth Education Scholarship Constitution Bee

News Release: Scholarships Awarded March 6, 2016

March 15, 2016

The 5th Annual “YES for Liberty” Constitution Bee was held Sunday, March 6th at 2:00 pm in the KSU Alumni Center.  40 of the original 46 students from across Kansas competed for the top scholarship award of $3500.00, ultimately awarded to Aaron Dlabal, a junior at Wilson High School, Wilson, KS.  As a junior, he remains eligible to compete again in his senior year. 

Adam Davies, a junior at Wichita Collegiate School, Wichita, KS, will receive the second place scholarship of $1500.00 and as a junior will also be eligible to compete again in his senior year.   Third place honors and $750.00 will go to sophomore Anne Serafin, of Emmett, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys, KS.  The awards apply to tuition at any accredited or board approved 2 or 4-year public or private college or university; vocational-technical school or trade school located anywhere in the United States.  For more details visit

Other qualifying finalists from across the state included: 

  • Mariel Archer; Rita Archer; Emma Awerkamp; Emma Bryan; Isabel Cervantes; Bridget Dowd; Julianna Dredger; Andrea Espinoza; Megan Fordham; Leah Landolfi; Germaine Murtha; Olivia Palmeri; Jacqueline Parisi; Emma Pedersen; Patricia Rada & Rosemary Summers, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys;
  • Grayce McAllister & Mark McAllister, Wisdom Academy, Americus;
  • Tanner Cullens; Katelin Hoch & Austin Ortiz, Wilson HS, Wilson ;
  • Nicole Nicolet, Burlington HS, Burlington;
  • Dene' Dryden, Palco HS, Palco;
  • Melissa Pfeifer, Thomas More Prep-Marian HS, Hays;
  • Brody Harshaw; Natalie Wareham; Kortnee VanDonge; Mason Strader; Ian McAsey & Tel Wittmer, Holton HS, Holton;
  • Allison Basore & Katrina Basore, Centre HS, Lost Springs;
  • Jacob Gerber, Silver Lake HS, Silver Lake;
  • Ashton Harlan, Leavenworth HS, Leavenworth;
  • Braxton Moral, Ulysses HS, Ulysses;
  • Laura Nicolae (2015 2nd Place Award Winner), Washburn HS, Topeka, KS
  • Ben Rowley, Sedgwick HS, Sedgwick

The event was co-hosted by the Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. and the KSU College Republicans.  “Mystical”, A Sweet Adeline Barbershop Quartet, featuring Cathy Dawes Scroggs along with Jessica & Shannon Fritz and Deanna Barleen, welcomed the audience and students with their patriotic renditions.

Invocation performed by Pastor JC Hall, missionary member of Islander Evangelistic Ministries to Haiti.

Keynote speaker KrisAnne Hall, Constitutional Attorney, former state prosecutor, educator, author and radio show host of "The KrisAnne Hall Show".

Judging the competition were Dr. Paul Ibbetson, author and radio show host of "Conscience of Kansas"; Wynn Butler, administrator, faculty member Barton County Community College Ft. Riley Campus, former Mayor and current sitting City Commissioner, Manhattan, KS;   Richard Fry, General Counsel, JD, VP Oath Keepers, Co-Founder Defend Not Amend; and Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin, currently Pastor of Ashland Community Church, Manhattan, KS and author.

Chandler Huddleston, 2013 2nd place and 2014 & 2015 1st place award winner, addressed the students and guests.

Invitations were mailed to more than 400 high school principals and counselors across Kansas, including all known public, private, military & home-schools.  Applications for the school year 2015-2016, from eligible Kansas 9-12 graders, opened on Constitution Day, September 17, 2015 and closed on December 31, 2015.

FHTP Educational Fund Board Chairman, John Matta, hosted the event, ably assisted by FHTPEF Board members, Robert Deemie, John Ford, Tom & Sylda Nichols, Vicki Rodriguez, Larry & Chris Tawney along with former board members, Linda Deemie, Marvin Rodriquez, Judy and John Ball with Celebrity Statesman Master of Ceremonies "George Washington" to oversee the proceedings.

Bockers II of Manhattan provided terrific and splendid catering for the reception after the awards.

Videography provided by Bob & Brenda Bowser of Salina KS.  Still photography provided by Evan Parsons of Manhattan.  Graphic design provided by Carolyn Wells of Manhattan. 

Various volunteer assistance provided by Willis Poppe of Olsburg KS; Sharon Greene of Riley KS; Heather Miller of Westmoreland; Jerry Ukena, Chuck & Linda Henderson, Darrel Wilson, Karla Parsons all of Manhattan; Mickey & Chandler Huddleston of Canyon, TX and many others throughout the year.

Our deepest gratitude also to the Operations Management & Staff of the KSU Alumni Center for their wonderful assistance in making our event at their venue the complete success we all enjoyed.

Other generous considerations provided by Thomas Outdoor Advertising & Sign Co., EP Printsource, Dr. Paul Barkey, Outdoor Resources, LLC and GTM Sportswear, all of Manhattan; Convention & Visitors Bureau of Manhattan; Kris Anne Hall, Constitutional Attorney, founder of

We gratefully acknowledge funding and support contributed by volunteers and enhanced by these donors: 

  • Benefactor Level - R-Tech Tool & Machine, Inc., Wamego; Advanced Dermatology, John Adams, MD, Manhattan
  • Sponsor Level - Parsons Communication, Inc., Manhattan; Dr. Gerald L. Kinman, Bryan, TX 
  • Contributor Level – Lee & Theresa Niblock, Stockton KS; Myron & Nancy Calhoun, Manhattan; Michael Mullin, via Company Matching Funds, Detroit, MI; Rep. Dr. Ron Highland and wife Linda, Wamego

Donors and volunteers are always welcome.  For additional information about the program, to confirm your school’s contact information is on our mailing list, or to add your name for direct notification for the 2016-2017 program, contact us at



<< Go Back

Website designed & hosted by Outdoor Resources, LLC
Copyright © 2010-2018 YES For Liberty Constitution Bee
The Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. is a
non-profit 501(c) (3) organization incorporated in the State of Kansas.