Youth Education Scholership Constitution Bee
YES for Liberty
YES for Liberty
Youth Education Scholarship Constitution Bee

News Release: "YES for Liberty" Scholarships Awarded - March 5, 2017

March 13, 2017

The 6th Annual “YES for Liberty” Constitution Bee was held Sunday, March 5th, 2017 at 2:00 pm in the KSU Alumni Center.  35 of the original 37 students from across Kansas competed for the top scholarship award of $3500.00, ultimately awarded to Aaron Dlabal, a senior at Wilson High School, Wilson, KS. 

Adam Davies, a senior at Wichita Collegiate School, Wichita, KS, will receive the second place scholarship of $1500.00.  Third place honors and $750.00 will go to junior Anne Serafin, of Emmett, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys, KS.  As a junior, Anne Serafin, will again be eligible to compete in 2018. 

Scholarship awards apply to tuition at any accredited or board approved 2 or 4-year public or private college or university; vocational-technical school or trade school located anywhere in the United States. 

For more details visit

Other qualifying finalists from across the state included: 

  • Genevieve Archer; Rita Archer; Emma Bryan; Isabel Cervantes; Bridget Dowd; Andrea Espinoza; Alicia Fassbender; Megan Fordham; Cyprian Kramer; Lucia Novelly; Olivia Palmeri; Jacqueline Parisi; Patricia Rada & Jose' Rada III, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys;
  • Mark McAllister, Wisdom Academy, Americus;
  • Nicole Asbury; Deidre Chaar; Matthew Chapman; Adrienne Curl; Anna Loch; Katherine Peters; Lillyanna Webster & Yasmine Williams, Leavenworth Senior HS, Leavenworth;
  • Moriah Carter, Argonia HS, Argonia;
  • Sam Crowley, Hays HS, Hays;
  • Kolton Hall, Hamilton HS, Hamilton;
  • Aaran McAllister; John Sheldon; Kortnee VanDonge & Natalie Wareham, Holton HS, Holton;
  • Austin Welch, Hillsboro HS, Hillsboro;
  • Braxton Moral, Ulysses HS, Ulysses 

The event was co-hosted by the Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. and the KSU College Republicans. 

Invocation performed by Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin.

Colors were aptly presented by Boy Scouts of America Manhattan Troop 75.

Keynote speaker Tony Barton, Fmr State Representative, 41st District and radio host on "Conversation America".

Judging the competition were  Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin, currently Pastor of Ashland Community Church, Manhattan, KS and author; Wynn Butler, administrator, faculty member Barton County Community College Ft. Riley Campus, former Mayor, and current sitting City Commissioner, Manhattan, KS and Kerrick Kuder, 2016 Graduate of KSU with undergraduate degree in Political Science, currently pursuing a Law Degree with emphasis on Judicial Law.

Richard Fry, Esq (Aug. 29, 1958 - Feb. 12, 2017) was honored with a moment of silence.  Richard served as a guiding force from the early conception of the Constitution Bee, overseeing the competition four of the past five years as a judge.

Announcements to participate were mailed to more than 400 high school principals and counselors across Kansas, including all known public, private, military & home-schools.  Applications for the school year 2016-2017 were received from eligible Kansas 9-12 graders.  Annually the application process opens on Constitution Day, September 17 and closes with postmarked applications no later than December 31.

FHTP Educational Fund Board Chairman, John Matta, hosted the event, ably assisted by FHTPEF Board members, Rex Miller, John Ford, Tom & Sylda Nichols, Vicki Rodriguez, Lynn and Mark Mowrey, Larry & Chris Tawney along with former board members, Marvin Rodriquez, Judy and John Ball with Celebrity Statesman Master of Ceremonies "George Washington" to oversee the proceedings.

Bockers II of Manhattan provided terrific and splendid catering for the reception after the awards.

Videography provided by Felix Oliveras.  Still photography provided by Evan Parsons of Manhattan.  Graphic design provided by Carolyn Wells of Manhattan. 

Various volunteer assistance provided by Sharon Greene of Riley KS; Heather Miller of Westmoreland; Chuck & Linda Henderson, Darrel Wilson, Karla Parsons all of Manhattan and many others throughout the year.

Our deepest gratitude also to the Operations Management & Staff of the KSU Alumni Center for their wonderful assistance in making our event at their venue the complete success we all enjoyed.

Other generous considerations provided by Thomas Outdoor Advertising & Sign Co., EP Printsource, Outdoor Resources, LLC and GTM Sportswear, all of Manhattan; Convention & Visitors Bureau of Manhattan; Holiday Inn at Campus, Manhattan, KS.

We gratefully acknowledge funding and support contributed by volunteers and enhanced by these donors: 

  • Benefactor Level - Kansas Air Center
  • Sponsor Level - Parsons Communication, Inc., Manhattan; 
  • Contributor Level – Lee & Theresa Niblock, Stockton KS; Myron & Nancy Calhoun, Manhattan; Rep. Dr. Ron Highland and wife Linda, Wamego

Donors and volunteers are always welcome.  For additional information about the program, to confirm your school’s contact information is on our mailing list, or to add your name for direct notification for the 2017-2018 program, contact us at


<< Go Back

Website designed & hosted by Outdoor Resources, LLC
Copyright © 2010-2018 YES For Liberty Constitution Bee
The Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. is a
non-profit 501(c) (3) organization incorporated in the State of Kansas.