Youth Education Scholership Constitution Bee
YES for Liberty
YES for Liberty
Going Merry
Youth Education Scholarship Constitution Bee

News Release: "YES for Liberty" Scholarships Awarded - March 4, 2018

March 13, 2018

The 7th Annual “YES for Liberty” Constitution Bee was held Sunday, March 4th, 2018 at 2:00 pm in the KSU Alumni Center.   25 of the original 28 students from across Kansas competed for the top scholarship award of $3500.00, ultimately awarded to Anne Serafin, from Emmett, KS, a senior at St. Mary’s Academy, St. Marys, KS.  Anne Serafin had competed and won 3rd place both in 2016 and 2017.  
Madison Porter, of Lenexa, KS, a senior at Shawnee Mission West High School, Overland Park, KS, will receive the second place scholarship of $1500.00.  Third place honors and $750.00 will go to junior, Emma Bryan, of St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys, KS.  As a junior, Emma Bryan, will again be eligible to compete in 2019.  
Scholarship awards apply to tuition at any accredited or board approved 2 or 4-year public or private college or university; vocational-technical school or trade school located anywhere in the United States.  
For more details visit
Other qualifying finalists from across the state included: 

  • Rita Archer; Bridget Dowd; Cyprian Kramer; Lucia Novelly; Kelly Palmer; Olivia Palmeri; Natalia Rada; Patricia Rada; Jose' Rada III; Andrew Watts & Joseph Zapp, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys; 
  • Mark McAllister, Wisdom Academy, Americus; 
  • Selena Gorsky, Quinter HS, Quinter;
  • Kortnee VanDonge, Holton HS, Holton; 
  • Carson Cargill, Medicine Lodge Jr/Sr HS; 
  • Hannah Fouts & Zane Roberts, Rock Creek Jr/Sr HS, St. George;
  • Slade Swan, Andover HS, Andover; 
  • Jaxson Windholz, Ellsworth Jr/Sr HS, Ellsworth;
  • Jazmin Jimenez-Gonzalez, Garden City Senior HS, Garden City;
  • Caitlin Synder, Cedar Hill School, Manhattan; 
  • Arina Nuessen, Cheney HS, Cheney

The event was co-hosted by the Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. and the KSU College Republicans.  

Invocation was offered by Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin.

Colors were aptly presented by Trail Life Troop 0057, Manhattan, KS
Keynote speaker Joseph Ashby, Wichita Talk Radio Pioneer and “American Thinker” Contributor.

Judging the competition were Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin, currently Pastor of Ashland Community Church, Manhattan, KS and author; Wynn Butler, retired administrator, faculty member Barton County Community College Ft. Riley Campus, former Mayor, and current sitting City Commissioner, Manhattan, KS and Dr. Richard Miller of Goldsboro, NC, retired US Army, with degrees in Electrical and Bio Environmental Engineering, Doctorate in Strategic Leadership, and author.
Special guests in attendance included:  KS Rep. Ron Highland, of Wamego; KS Rep. Francis Awerkamp and wife, Shannon, of St. Marys; Marvin Rodriquez, Riley Co. Commissioner; Wynn Butler, City Commissioner, Manhattan.
Announcements to participate were mailed to more than 400 high school principals and counselors across Kansas, including all known public, private, military & home-schools.  Applications for the school year 2017-2018 were received from eligible Kansas 9-12 graders.  Annually the application process opens on Constitution Day, September 17 and closes with postmarked applications no later than December 31.
FHTP Educational Fund Board Chairman, John Matta, hosted the event, ably assisted by FHTPEF Board members, Rex Miller, John Ford, Tom & Sylda Nichols, Vicki Rodriguez, Lynn and Mark Mowrey, Larry & Chris Tawney along with former board members, Marvin Rodriquez, Judy and John Ball with Celebrity Statesman Master of Ceremonies "George Washington" to oversee the proceedings.
Bockers II of Manhattan provided terrific and splendid catering for the reception following the awards.
Videography provided by Felix Oliveras.  Still photography provided by Evan Parsons of Manhattan.  Graphic design provided by Carolyn Wells of Manhattan.  
Various volunteer assistance provided by Sharon Greene of Riley KS; Heather Miller of Westmoreland; Carolyn Wells, Chuck Henderson, Jerry Ukena, Karla Parsons all of Manhattan and many others throughout the year.
Our deepest gratitude also to the Operations Management & Staff of the KSU Alumni Center for their wonderful assistance in making our event at their venue the complete success we all enjoyed.
Other generous considerations provided by Thomas Outdoor Advertising & Sign Co., EP Printsource, Outdoor Resources, LLCManhattan Stamp and Awards, GTM Sportswear, all of Manhattan; Convention & Visitors Bureau of Manhattan; Holiday Inn at Campus, Manhattan, KS.
We gratefully acknowledge funding and support contributed by volunteers and enhanced by these donors:   

  • Benefactor Level – Memorial Gift honoring Jack Sossoman, Topeka & Richard Fry, Olathe; Peoples State Bank, Manhattan, KS;
  • Sponsor Level - Parsons Communication, Inc., Manhattan;  Kansas Jet Center, Manhattan; Dr. Gerald & Joyce Kinman, Bryan, TX 
  • Contributor Level – Lee & Theresa Niblock, Stockton KS; Myron & Nancy Calhoun, Manhattan; Rep. Dr. Ron Highland and wife Linda, Wamego; Jon Pope, Manhattan; Dave Schafer, Manhattan; Courtney & Clare Solberg, Fargo, ND; R-Tech Tool & Machine, Wamego; John and Jo Ann D’Aloia, St. Marys, KS

Donors and volunteers are always welcome.  For additional information about the program, to confirm your school’s contact information is on our mailing list, or to add your name for direct notification for the 2018-2019 program, contact us at

<< Go Back

Website designed & hosted by Outdoor Resources, LLC
Copyright © 2010-2019 YES For Liberty Constitution Bee
The Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. is a
non-profit 501(c) (3) organization incorporated in the State of Kansas.