Youth Education Scholership Constitution Bee
YES for Liberty
YES for Liberty
Going Merry
Youth Education Scholarship Constitution Bee

2019 8th Annual Constitution Bee

The 8th Annual “YES for Liberty” Constitution Bee was held Sunday, March 3rd, 2019 at 2:00 pm in the KSU Alumni Center. 13 of the original 27 students scheduled to compete from across Kansas braved the snowy conditions this year to compete for the top scholarship award of $3500.00, ultimately awarded to Mark McAllister, a senior at Wisdom Academy, Americus, KS.
Carson Cargill of Isabel, a sophomore at Medicine Lodge Jr/Sr High School, Medicine Lodge, KS, received the second place scholarship of $1500.00. As a sophomore Carson Cargill will again be eligible to compete in 2020 & 2021. Third place honors and $750.00 was awarded to senior, Rita Archer, of St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys, KS.
Scholarship awards apply to tuition at any accredited or board approved 2 or 4-year public or private college or university; vocational-technical school or trade school located anywhere in the United States.
Other qualifying finalists from across the state included:
  • Emma Bryan; Maria Cortes; Bridget Dowd; Gregory Goldade; Lucia Novelly; Natalia Rada; Patricia Rada, St. Mary's Academy, St. Marys;
  • Ethan Day, Olathe Northwest HS, Olathe;
  • Genevieve Howerton, Temple Baptist Academy, Wichita;
  • Austin Kruse, Seaman HS, Topeka
The event was co-hosted by the Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. and the KSU College Republicans.
Invocation given by Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplain.
Trail Life USA Troop KS-0057, a ministry of St. Luke’s Lutheran Church, presented the Colors.
Keynote speaker Mary Sabatini, 2017 KSU Political Science Graduate, member of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series, former intern for Rep. Ron Highland, 51st District, and 2017-2019 Assistant Director of Appointments in the Governor’s office. Currently, she is the Coordinator of Program Support at Jobs for America’s Graduates-Kansas (JAG-K) which helps at-risk students develop marketable skills for employment.
Judging the competition Dr. Paul Barkey, retired Army Chaplin, currently Pastor of Ashland Community Church, Manhattan, KS and author; Wynn Butler, retired administrator, faculty member Barton County Community College Ft. Riley Campus, former Mayor, and current sitting City Commissioner, Manhattan, KS; and John Ford, Riley Co. Commissioner.
Special guests in attendance included: KS Rep. Dr. Ron Highland and wife Linda, of Wamego; Marvin Rodriquez, Riley Co. Commissioner; Wynn Butler, City Commissioner, Manhattan, John M. Ford, Riley Co. Commissioner, Dee McKee, Pottawatomie Co. Commissioner.
This year’s announcement to participate was readily posted on the website alerting all Kansas public, private, military & home-schools of the opportunity to apply. We, also, partnered with a scholarship service,, which provided awareness of additional opportunities for potential applicants regarding our scholarship and others. “GoingMerry” provided for the timely submission of applications for the students. Our presence on social media, such as Facebook is in its budding stage. Applications for the school year 2018-2019 were received from eligible Kansas 9-12 graders. Annually the application process opens on September 17, Constitution Day, and closes with postmarked and/or received applications no later than December 31.

FHTP Educational Fund Board Chairman, John Matta, hosted the event, ably assisted by FHTPEF Board members, Rex Miller, Tom & Sylda Nichols, Vicki Rodriguez, Glen Hawkins, Larry & Chris Tawney along with former board members, Marvin Rodriquez, Judy and John Ball with Celebrity Statesman Master of Ceremonies "George Washington" overseeing the proceedings.
Bockers II of Manhattan provided terrific and splendid catering for the reception following the awards.
Videography provided by Jerry Hutchinson, AngelFM95. Still photography provided by Evan Parsons of Manhattan. Graphic design provided by Carolyn Wells of Manhattan. Technology directed by Judy Ball.
Various volunteer assistance provided by Sharon Greene of Riley KS; Heather Miller of Westmoreland; Carolyn Wells, Darrel Wilson, Chuck & Linda Henderson, Robert Deemie, and Karla Parsons all of Manhattan along with many others throughout the year.

Our deepest gratitude also to the Operations Management & Staff of the KSU Alumni Center for their wonderful assistance in making our event at their venue the complete success enjoyed by all.
Other generous considerations provided by Thomas Outdoor Advertising & Sign Co.; EP Printsource; Outdoor Resources, LLC; Manhattan Stamp and Awards; GTM Sportswear; Convention & Visitors Bureau of Manhattan; and Holiday Inn at Campus all of Manhattan, KS.
We gratefully acknowledge funding and support contributed by volunteers and enhanced by these donors:
  • Benefactor Level – Memorial Gift honoring Willis Ray Poppe, Olsburg; Memorial Gift honoring Wm. & Mildred Deemie, parents of Robert Deemie, Manhattan, KS; Awerkamp Family Foundation, a Donor Advised Fund of Renaissance Charitable Foundation, St. Marys, KS;
  • Sponsor Level - Parsons Communication, Inc., Manhattan;
  • Contributor Level – Myron & Nancy Calhoun, Manhattan; Rep. Dr. Ron Highland and wife Linda, Wamego; Dave
  • Schafer, Manhattan; Courtney & Clare Solberg, Fargo, ND; R-Tech Tool & Machine, Wamego; John and JoAnn D’Aloia, St. Marys, KS

Donors and volunteers are always welcome. For additional information about the program, to confirm your school’s contact information, or to add your name for direct notification for the 2019-2020 program, contact us at

Website designed & hosted by Outdoor Resources, LLC
Copyright © 2010-2019 YES For Liberty Constitution Bee
The Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. is a
non-profit 501(c) (3) organization incorporated in the State of Kansas.