Youth Education Scholership Constitution Bee
YES for Liberty
YES for Liberty
Going Merry
Youth Education Scholarship Constitution Bee

2014 3rd Annual Constitution Bee

The 3rd Annual “YES for Liberty” Constitution Bee was held Sunday, March 2nd at 2:00pm in the KSU Alumni Center.  Fifteen of the original eighteen finalists braved the winter elements to compete for the top scholarship award of $3500.00, ultimately awarded to Chandler Huddleston, a junior at Rolla High School in far southwestern KS and 2013 second place award winner.

Jacob Nicolet, junior at Burlington High School in Burlington, KS, will receive the second place scholarship of $1500.00.   Third place honors and $750.00 will go to senior Kasey Holle, from Wamego High School, in Wamego.  Juniors Huddleston and Nicolet will be eligible to compete again in their senior years.  The awards apply to tuition at any accredited 2- or 4-year public or private college or university; vocational-technical school or trade school located anywhere in the United States.  For more details visit

Other qualifying finalists from across the state included: 

  • Taylor Latham, Great Bend HS, Great Bend;
  • Allison Basore, Centre HS, Lost Springs;
  • Taliesin Hutson & Zebulon Hutson, Westmoreland, Blue-Valley HS, Randolph;
  • Nelsa Beckman, Manhattan, Riley County HS, Riley;
  • Abigail Wahl & Michaella Wahl, Riley County HS, Riley;
  • Mitchell Porter, Topeka, Rossville HS, Rossville;
  • Christian Garland, II, Russell HS, Russell;
  • Jacob Milham (2012 - 3rd Place winner), St. George, Rock Creek HS, Westmoreland/St. George;
  • Marilyn Nguyen (2013 – 3rd Place winner), Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic HS, Wichita;
  • Alex Wakim, Northwest HS, Wichita;

The event was co-hosted by the Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. and the KSU College Republicans.  Manhattan Christian Bookstore provided the flags for posting the colors.

Invocation performed by Rev. Dr. Paul Barkey, US Army Ret.

Keynote speakers were Representative Ron Highland, 51st District and Dr. Paul Barkey, US Army Ret.

2013-2nd Annual Constitution Bee 1st-Place winner Nicholas Ercolani also addressed this year's participants to express how the Constitution impacts his life today.  He also shared his future plans and how the award will assist in those plans.

Judging the competition were Dr. Paul Ibbetson, popular author & “Conscience of Kansas” talk-radio host; Richard Fry, General Counsel, JD, VP Oath Keepers, Co-Founder Defend Not Amend; and Brenda Bowser, Co-Founder of Central Kansas Patriots, State Director Kansas Patriot Action Network and Co-Host of “The Scene” on Access TV, Saline County.

Special guests in attendance included KS Rep. Ron Highland and his wife, Linda, of Wamego; John Matta, Mayor, Manhattan, KS; Lane Frazier, 2012 – 2nd Place Award Winner, Nick Ercolani, 2013 – 1st Place Award Winner.

Invitations were mailed to more than 480 high school principals and counselors across Kansas, including all known public, private, military & home-schools.  Applications for the school year 2013-2014, from eligible Kansas 9-12 graders, opened on Constitution Day, September 17, 2013 and closed on December 31, 2013.

 FHTP-Educational Fund Board Chairman Robert Deemie hosted the event, ably assisted by his wife Linda and FHTP-EF Board members John & Judy Ball, John Ford, Tom & Sylda Nichols, Marvin & Vicki Rodriguez, Larry & Chris Tawney, with Celebrity Statesman Master of Ceremonies "George Washington" to oversee the proceedings.

Bockers II of Manhattan provided terrific and splendid catering for the reception after the awards.

Videography provided by Bob & Brenda Bowser of Salina KS.  Still Photography provided by Evan Parsons of Manhattan.  Graphic design provided by Carolyn Wells of Manhattan.  Award Calligraphy performed by Chuck Henderson of Manhattan.

Various volunteer assistance provided by Rane Cravens, Carl Bowden, Beni Wilson, Laura Meyers & Alisa Maso of KSU-College Republicans; Erika Losonszky of Junction City; Willis & Helen Poppe of Olsburg KS; Sharon Greene of Riley KS; Rex Miller, Manhattan; David Schafer, Manhattan; Heather Miller of Westmoreland; Jerry Ukena of Manhattan; Karla Parsons of Manhattan; and many others throughout the year...

Our deepest gratitude also to the Operations Management & Staff of the KSU Alumni Center for their wonderful assistance in making our event at their venue the complete success we all enjoyed.

Other generous considerations provided by Thomas Outdoor Advertising & Sign Co., EP Printsource and GTM Sportswear, all of Manhattan.

We gratefully acknowledge funding and support contributed by volunteers and enhanced by these donors: 

  • Benefactor Level - R-Tech Tool & Machine, Inc., Wamego; Advanced Dermatology, John Adams, MD, Manhattan
  • Sponsor Level - Parsons Communication, Inc., Manhattan; Lee & Theresa Niblock, Stockton KS
  • Memorial Honors, Sponsor Level  - the late Joe D. Koukol, WWII veteran, Belleville KS.

Donors and volunteers are always welcome.  For additional information about the program, to confirm your school’s contact information is on our mailing list, or to add your name for direct notification for the 2014-2015 program, contact us at  

Website designed & hosted by Outdoor Resources, LLC
Copyright © 2010-2020 YES For Liberty Constitution Bee
The Flint Hills Tea Party Educational Fund, Inc. is a
non-profit 501(c) (3) organization incorporated in the State of Kansas.